Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tech

Gran Turismo Sport review: A brilliant, but very new, direction for the series

Gran Turismo Sport is the 16th game in the long-running fran..

  • Gran Turismo Sport is the 16th game in the long-running franchise. It's also very good.
  • Many of our favorite tracks from previous GT games are absent, but the new additions are good.
  • The lighting and reflections are pretty.
  • The car count is much smaller than we'd expect from the series, but you do get some cool machines like this McLaren concept.
  • This helicopter will fly over the Alsace track periodically while you're doing an endurance race there.
  • It wouldn't be a GT game without some otaku-level knowledge bombs, and this game has plenty in the "Timeline."
  • Some say this was the high point of the franchise. Personally, I think GT6 was a better game, but it came with all the baggage of that six-year delay in the move from PS2 to PS3.
  • Sadly, the ubercool BMW Z1 is not in the game.
  • Not all the fact nuggets are car-related.
  • Lewis Hamilton gets his own channel.
  • This is an example of what you can find on each brand's channel.
  • The firework effects are well done.
  • A Honda NSX in my garage, and the main menu.
  • The game awards you plenty of cars even early on, so it doesn't feel grindy.
  • Photo mode is back.
  • Now it has plenty of filters, so you can make your photos look like Instagram.
  • There are many, many locations to shoot photos.
  • Yes, you need an internet connection to make most of the game function. Honestly, it's not that bad because this game is all about online racing.
  • The wait screen is very relaxing to watch—those pistons are animated.

Gran Turismo Sport is a great racing game. What it's not is a simple PS4 port of the last GT game. Almost everything about this latest release is different from every game that has come before it in the series. There are way fewer selectable cars than the competition (and previous GT games). There aren't many tracks. You won't spend hours buying new parts for your car or taking it for an oil change or a car wash. Gran Turismo Sport might not be the world’s most accurate driving simulation, but it’s fun—a lot of fun, particularly with a steering wheel. And refreshingly, it doesn't try to make you open your wallet to unlock anything.

But if racing against other humans online isn't something you care for, GTS is not the game for you. Unlike GT games of old, GTS is all about racing online, and maybe—just maybe—becoming a real racing driver at the end.

You can count on some game franchises to release new titles with metronomic regularity. Not so for the irregular and infrequent installments from Kazunori Yamauchi and his team Polyphony Digital. Deadlines were always a problem with the series, horribly exacerbated by the "nightmare" caused by the PS3 and its Cell processor. But now there's a new GT for the PS4, packed full of super-high definition and virtual reality. By my count, it's the 16th game (including the two-wheeled Tourist Trophy) in a series that dates back two decades with over 70 million copies sold.

Pretty much all of those games followed the same formula. You earn credits in races, then you spend those riches buying and tuning cars to win more races. Gran Turismo Sport bucks that trend in ways that make it quite clear why the developer didn't name the game Gran Turismo 7 (even if Yamauchi thinks that name would have worked).

Late to online, but early to e-sports?

The focus here is very much on the online experience, an emblematic example of an industry trend away from big-budget single-player games. The online focus is present to the extent that the game is quite limited when it can't speak to its servers. This has generated a lot of consternation in certain corners, and anyone looking for an updated version of the excellent GT6 is going to be disappointed. There are only 170-odd cars, and only one of those is a Mazda MX-5 Miata. The solo "Campaign" mode will probably keep you busy for a week, if that. And a lot of favorite tracks are missing—although the 'Ring is still present and correct.

Polyphony Digital was late to the whole idea of online multiplayer racing, only adding it in for 2008's GT5: Prologue. In some ways, GTS can be seen as making up for lost time.

But the series was way ahead of its time in taking the venture seriously enough to boost it from being a mere game to an e-sport. Back in 2008, and together with Nissan, Sony created the GT Academy, which has used the game to find promising talent to turn into actual racing drivers. GT Academy did a lot to legitimize racing games among the professional racing crowd, and e-sports features are now standard issue for any racing title released in 2017. (It's a must-have for actual racing series like Formula E and Formula 1.)

  • The partnership between the FIA and Polyphony Digital resulted in Gran Turismo Sport.
  • Before you can race online, you have to watch a couple of short videos.
  • In addition to regular Daily Races (which happen every 20 minutes) there are some FIA and Polyphony Digital events to compete in.
  • Pick a time to enter the championship.
  • This event doesn't start for a few weeks, but you can get some practice in.
  • Racing online.
  • For one of the FIA series, you have to align yourself with an OEM.
  • Qualifying before each race is worth the time.

In GTS, that online competition is the core of the game. Polyphony Digital has even partnered with the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile, or FIA, the body that organizes world motorsports and series like Formula 1. The two got together in 2014 with the idea that an FIA-approved game could earn players a "digital" FIA racing license that may translate to the real world. Racing licenses are required by sanctioning bodies to compete in their series, and they aren't cheap to obtain, which is a major roadblock for many aspiring racers. However, it's still a bit early to see how this "digital" version will pan out; we asked Sony if there is any fresh info but were told to expect news about licenses in the next few weeks.

Officially sanctioned online racing is the game's Sport mode. There are a number of regular Daily Races, which take place at 20-minute intervals throughout the day. Then there are two different FIA series and a Polyphony Digital Championship. Those three all get underway in early November, so our only experience is currently with the daily races, each of which is a 15-minute affair on a relatively short track suited to beginners. (Right now, that's the Brands Hatch Indy circuit, the East Course at Suzuka, and the fictional Northern Isle Speedway oval, although they will change periodically.)

Let's block ads! (Why?)

Original Article

109 Comments

109 Comments

  1. bay way

    December 12, 2021 at 2:42 pm

    Normally I do not read post on blogs, but I would like to say thatthis write-up very forced me to check out anddo it! Your writing style has been amazed me.Thank you, quite great post.

  2. sexual health

    December 13, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic article post.Thanks Again. Cool.

  3. AAA Garage Service Pros

    December 15, 2021 at 3:00 pm

    Thanks again for the blog article.Really thank you!

  4. Powher cut review

    December 15, 2021 at 9:07 pm

    Thank you for your article post.Much thanks again. Want more.

  5. check out

    December 18, 2021 at 5:15 pm

    hi!,I like your writing very much! proportion we keep in touch extra about your article on AOL? I require an expert on this area to unravel my problem. May be that’s you! Looking ahead to look you.

  6. kredo-uno

    December 19, 2021 at 10:47 am

    Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much.I was looking for this certain info for a very long time.Thank you and best of luck.

  7. what score do you need to buy a house

    December 19, 2021 at 12:35 pm

    Hello.This post was really motivating, particularly since I was looking for thoughts on this issue last Friday.

  8. Tax on Foreign Income UK

    December 20, 2021 at 1:29 pm

    Dihydrofolate reductase trimoxazole tablets ip

  9. free books download

    December 20, 2021 at 4:36 pm

    I really liked your post.Thanks Again.

  10. The Best CBD Blogs

    December 20, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    What an incredible way of looking at points.

  11. driveway paving Cincinnati

    December 21, 2021 at 7:57 am

    recep ivedik 6 izle 19 Jan, 2021 at 10:56 am I think this is a real great post. Thanks Again. Fantastic. Kimberly Florian Dekow

  12. ??

    December 21, 2021 at 7:30 pm

    Wow a good deal of fantastic material.creative college essay best dissertation writing services business

  13. canberra concrete

    December 21, 2021 at 9:25 pm

    Thank you ever so for you blog article.Really thank you! Keep writing.

  14. Christmas

    December 22, 2021 at 7:43 am

    Great, thanks for sharing this blog.Thanks Again. Really Great.

  15. click here

    December 22, 2021 at 10:58 am

    A participant generally thinks that their outs will give them the very best hand but then this is not always the situation. Fun is waiting around for you following all. Gambling addicts make bad choices and endure the implications.

  16. elite power cbd gummies uk

    December 24, 2021 at 6:39 pm

    I appreciate you sharing this blog article.

  17. elite power cbd gummies reviews canada

    December 24, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    I truly appreciate this article post.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

  18. this website

    December 25, 2021 at 9:14 am

    Thank you for your blog article.Much thanks again. Much obliged.

  19. NYC Water Testing

    December 25, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    I am so grateful for your blog.Really looking forward to read more. Will read on…

  20. เว็บ สล็อต ตรง

    December 28, 2021 at 8:22 am

    A big thank you for your article.Much thanks again. Really Great.

  21. exodus effect customer reviews

    December 29, 2021 at 8:40 pm

    I truly appreciate this article.Really looking forward to read more. Really Great.

  22. the exodus effect holy oil recipe

    December 29, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Fantastic post.Thanks Again. Cool.

  23. mobile auto detailing kc

    December 30, 2021 at 10:49 am

    I cannot thank you enough for the blog.Much thanks again. Want more.

  24. albanian cock sucker

    December 30, 2021 at 3:13 pm

    Thank you ever so for you article.Really thank you! Will read on…

  25. slot pragmatic

    December 30, 2021 at 6:13 pm

    I value the article.Much thanks again. Really Great.

  26. how to invest in crypto currency

    December 30, 2021 at 7:35 pm

    I do agree with all the ideas you’ve presented in your post. They’re really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for newbies. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  27. download mp3

    December 30, 2021 at 8:10 pm

    Fantastic article.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic.

  28. cordtela

    December 30, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    I loved your post.Much thanks again. Great.

  29. Thank you ever so for you post.Thanks Again. Much obliged.

  30. snaptik tiktok

    December 31, 2021 at 2:22 pm

    wow, awesome blog.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic.

  31. parallels desktop 17 crack

    December 31, 2021 at 8:13 pm

    Hey, thanks for the blog.Really looking forward to read more.

  32. Thanks-a-mundo for the article post.Really looking forward to read more. Keep writing.

  33. สมัครambbet

    January 1, 2022 at 12:00 am

    I really liked your article post.Much thanks again. Fantastic.

  34. wand massager

    January 1, 2022 at 8:51 am

    This is a great resource. Ill visit again.

  35. mini wand massager

    January 1, 2022 at 10:57 am

    Thanks so much for the blog.Much thanks again. Want more.

  36. http://ninestarreviews.com

    January 1, 2022 at 4:49 pm

    Thank you for your article.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

  37. Souris gamer

    January 1, 2022 at 9:20 pm

    Very neat post.Much thanks again. Keep writing.

  38. exodus effect book where to buy

    January 2, 2022 at 9:21 am

    Hey, thanks for the post. Keep writing.

  39. perfect nails cuba

    January 2, 2022 at 11:21 am

    I truly appreciate this article post.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  40. divorce

    January 2, 2022 at 3:40 pm

    Really enjoyed this blog.Really thank you! Cool.

  41. Thanks for the article. Keep writing.

  42. company formation Indonesia

    January 3, 2022 at 9:25 am

    I truly appreciate this article.Much thanks again. Cool.

  43. stroker toy

    January 4, 2022 at 9:30 am

    Im obliged for the article. Fantastic.

  44. dentafend reviews

    January 4, 2022 at 11:28 am

    Looking forward to reading more. Great article.Much thanks again. Want more.

  45. rechargeable thrusting rabbit vibrator

    January 4, 2022 at 2:40 pm

    I really like and appreciate your blog article.Thanks Again. Keep writing.

  46. nipple clamp

    January 4, 2022 at 4:25 pm

    I truly appreciate this blog.Really thank you! Much obliged.

  47. rechargeable penis vacuum pump

    January 4, 2022 at 7:29 pm

    I value the blog post. Will read on…

  48. paint zoom 3000 platinum

    January 4, 2022 at 11:56 pm

    Enjoyed every bit of your article post.Much thanks again. Cool.

  49. spraying paint

    January 5, 2022 at 8:56 am

    Enjoyed every bit of your blog post.Really thank you! Will read on…

  50. rotorazer blade

    January 5, 2022 at 11:35 am

    Really informative article.Much thanks again. Want more.

  51. diy rotorazer

    January 5, 2022 at 3:23 pm

    I am so grateful for your article post.Much thanks again.

  52. CCNP Collaboration 300-835

    January 5, 2022 at 5:53 pm

    I am so happy to read this. This is the type of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this greatest doc.

  53. AnnaCobbs

    January 5, 2022 at 6:03 pm

    A round of applause for your post.Much thanks again. Really Cool.

  54. Adam and Eve G Spot Vibrator

    January 5, 2022 at 9:28 pm

    Muchos Gracias for your blog article.Thanks Again. Will read on…

  55. stationery store

    January 6, 2022 at 9:07 am

    Appreciate you sharing, great blog.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  56. Penis Extender

    January 6, 2022 at 1:38 pm

    Major thanks for the blog article. Much obliged.

  57. Couple Pleasure Ring

    January 6, 2022 at 6:04 pm

    Looking forward to reading more. Great article post. Will read on…

  58. Vibrating Bullet

    January 6, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    Really appreciate you sharing this post.Much thanks again. Awesome.

  59. High Quality Rabbit Vibrator

    January 6, 2022 at 11:27 pm

    Thanks again for the article post.Much thanks again. Cool.

  60. Anal Sex Toys

    January 7, 2022 at 2:32 am

    Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic article.Really looking forward to read more. Will read on…

  61. Best Wand Massager

    January 7, 2022 at 10:17 am

    Really informative article.Really thank you! Great.

  62. penis enhancer sleeve

    January 7, 2022 at 3:11 pm

    Say, you got a nice article post.Much thanks again. Want more.

  63. silicone dildo

    January 7, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    Thanks so much for the post.Much thanks again. Much obliged.

  64. online assignment help

    January 7, 2022 at 10:58 pm

    I appreciate you sharing this article post.Really thank you! Much obliged.

  65. must read books for aspiring entrepreneurs

    January 8, 2022 at 9:47 am

    Really appreciate you sharing this post.Much thanks again. Want more.

  66. save the penguin game

    January 8, 2022 at 6:20 pm

    This is one awesome blog post.Really looking forward to read more. Keep writing.

  67. does sonavel really work

    January 8, 2022 at 8:59 pm

    Muchos Gracias for your article.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

  68. I am so grateful for your post.

  69. www.fapshows.com/

    January 11, 2022 at 12:23 pm

    how much ivermectin paste to give a dog for mange agri mectin ivermectin

  70. visit

    January 12, 2022 at 9:36 am

    sildenafil dosage – herbal sildenafil sildenafil generic name

  71. onlinecasino

    January 12, 2022 at 9:09 pm

    Good information. Lucky me I recently found your blog by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve bookmarked it for later!

  72. self assessment tax return 2020-21

    January 14, 2022 at 3:32 pm

    Really enjoyed this article post. Will read on…

  73. keto strong xp reviews

    January 15, 2022 at 7:12 am

    Enjoyed every bit of your article post.Really thank you! Really Cool.

  74. does keto strong xp work

    January 15, 2022 at 11:56 am

    wow, awesome blog.Thanks Again. Great.

  75. Why Start a Company in Singapore

    January 15, 2022 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks so much for the article post.Really thank you!

  76. สล็อต888

    January 16, 2022 at 10:52 pm

    Enjoyed every bit of your post.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.

  77. 건마

    January 17, 2022 at 8:53 pm

    Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic blog article.Thanks Again. Want more.

  78. Clean Water Act

    January 18, 2022 at 10:07 am

    Muchos Gracias for your post.Really thank you!

  79. for more information

    January 19, 2022 at 3:09 pm

    Hello, the whole thing is going fine here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s in factexcellent, keep up writing.

  80. https://www.gigsinc.com/

    January 19, 2022 at 3:47 pm

    I will immediately seize your rss as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me understand in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  81. Bounce house rental near me

    January 19, 2022 at 6:09 pm

    Good response in return of this question with solid arguments and explaining everything on the topic of that.

  82. bounce house rentals Powder Springs GA

    January 19, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    F*ckin’ amazing issues here. I am very satisfied to look your article. Thanks a lot and i am taking a look ahead to contact you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  83. water slide rentals McAllen

    January 20, 2022 at 1:23 am

    Your style is unique compared to other people I have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this blog.

  84. gigsinc.com

    January 20, 2022 at 7:04 am

    I?d have to contact you below. Which is not something I normally do! I take pleasure in reading a post that will make people assume. Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

  85. here

    January 20, 2022 at 11:32 am

    ivermectin for pigeons ivermectin overdose in humans

  86. MRT pozvonochnika

    January 20, 2022 at 12:46 pm

    Truly loads of valuable tips.compare and contrast essay high school vs college essay rewriter best writing service

  87. see the link

    January 20, 2022 at 2:16 pm

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  88. Vanda

    January 20, 2022 at 11:00 pm

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!Extremely helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.Thank you and best of luck.

  89. world market credit card reviews

    January 21, 2022 at 2:00 am

    Thanks a lot! A lot of content.how to write an autobiographical narrative essay how to write a self introduction essay pay for freelance writers

  90. akun demo slot

    January 21, 2022 at 2:32 am

    Great blog.Really thank you! Much obliged.

  91. check my site

    January 21, 2022 at 10:45 am

    Muchos Gracias for your article post.Thanks Again. Keep writing.

  92. spanish non lucrative visa

    January 21, 2022 at 1:19 pm

    plaquenil for rheumatoid arthritis plaquenil – hydroxychloroquine online

  93. apple keto gummies australia

    January 21, 2022 at 5:39 pm

    I truly appreciate this blog.Really looking forward to read more. Really Great.

  94. to get more information

    January 21, 2022 at 11:24 pm

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

  95. see

    January 22, 2022 at 1:04 am

    great points altogether, you just gained a emblem new reader.What could you recommend in regards to your putup that you made a few days in the past? Any sure?

  96. Enjoyed every bit of your blog post. Really Cool.

  97. banging betty stroker kit

    January 22, 2022 at 11:08 am

    I really liked your post.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  98. Site Web

    January 22, 2022 at 11:46 am

    can you take zantac with prilosec prilosec at walmart

  99. american dildo

    January 22, 2022 at 8:29 pm

    I loved your article.Thanks Again. Great.

  100. vender mi coche Madrid

    January 23, 2022 at 1:52 am

    ivermectin scabies dose ivermectin for rosacea

  101. https://freesexcams.one/

    January 23, 2022 at 7:44 am

    Your style is really unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  102. wand massagers

    January 23, 2022 at 12:58 pm

    I think this is a real great article post.Thanks Again.

  103. Female Snapchat

    January 23, 2022 at 8:05 pm

    Thanks so much for the article post.Thanks Again. Really Great.

  104. ivermectin ebv how fast does ivermectin work

  105. Self Assessment Tax Return

    January 24, 2022 at 12:58 am

    It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  106. where to buy nft art

    January 24, 2022 at 2:12 am

    Muchos Gracias for your blog. Will read on…

  107. Private Label Activewear Manufacturer

    January 24, 2022 at 6:13 am

    modafinil withdrawal modafinil interactions

  108. http://www.fmurquiza.com/

    January 24, 2022 at 2:39 pm

    Thanks a lot for the article post.Really thank you! Keep writing.

  109. Very good post. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.